2012 Bird Race Results

13 May 2012 | Roger Stansfield

The 13th TABCG Berkshire Bird Race 11/12th May 2012 - Results
Pos. Team Total
1.Ken Moore, Andy Horscroft, Nigel Cleere112
2.Hugh Netley, Steve Ricks, Jim Reid108
 Richard Crawford, Ken Spring, Nigel Rampton108
3.Marek Walford, Mike McKee, Chris Turner107
4.Roger Stansfield, Robert Godden, Richard Collins101
5.Adrian Lawson, Phil Bysh, Jim Burnett100

With fewer teams taking part, and the revised rules, it seemed unlikely that we would be looking at new winners in this years Bird Race. This proved not to be the case and congratulations go to the winning team of Ken Moore, Andy Horscroft and Nigel Cleere. Their well planned and executed 'race' produced an impressive 112 species. 'The Brian Uttley Shield' is therefore awarded to them for the first time.

Special mention must be made of the 'Bike' team consisting Adrian Lawson, Phil Bysh and Jim Burnett, who managed a record breaking score of 100 in little over 15 hours and on two wheels!

Brian Uttley announced the 'Bird of the Day' to the team of Ken Moore, Andy Horscroft and Nigel Cleere, with a singing Brambling!

This year being so wet and cold, at the time when most migrants are returning to their breeding areas, has meant that fewer regular species have been here for 'race' day. Only two teams recorded Nightjar and only one Spotted Flycatcher.

I'd like to thank everybody for their continued support for the Bird Race and hope that this years 24 hour experimental format will continue, as I've had no adverse comments.

It seemed that all participants enjoyed themselves and I hope to see you all again next year.

The next Bird Race 'day' will be Saturday 11th May 2013, starting at 7 o'clock on Friday 10th May for those who so wish.